h1

Grading ELF (eyes lips face) Cosmetics

September 20, 2007

My local K-mart recently stocked up on ELF Cosmetics and I just had to see what all the hype is about. Besides only being $1 per product, how is the quality overall? So, I bought 5 items by ELF & decided to grade them;

Eye Widener Eye Pencil in Pearl White | Grade : F
Although,it has a convenient built in sharpener in the cap,the color payoff was poor. The color didn’t appear on my eyes very much after a few applications. I’ve had better success with Wet n Wild & NYC color pencils.

Healthy Glow Bronzing Powder in Warm Tan | Grade : C
It’s nicely pigmented with the perfect amount of shimmer. The lasting power of the bronzer on my cheeks was very weak. Within 2 hours,it disappeared from my face. I usually don’t have problems with bronzers disappearing on my face so,I didn’t even think about using a creme blush before hand. I did use the bronzer as an all over lid color on my eyes and it does make a pretty eye color. I would buy it again just to use as an eyeshadow.

Brightening Eye Color in Silver Lining & Nouveau Neturals | Grade : C-
Both come with 4 eyeshadows.The netural compact is pretty good color wise.Colors came out soft looking on my eyes. As for the Silver Lining compact,I had to use a creme eyeshadow as a base to make the colors really pop. When just using a regular no color eyeshadow base, the colors look really dull. I used a purple cream eyeshadow as a base to help intensify the colors. After even using the colored base, it did no justice. It looked like a pastel mess on my face. I noticed that the eyeshadows are a bit chalky & cracked easily. Also, the choice of colors is kind of boring.

Therapeutic Conditioning Balm in Strawberry Creme | Grade : A
All I have to say is..YUM! Smells heavenly & glides on my lips like butter. It’s one of those lip balms that you can’t stop applying to your lips because your addicted to it.

Overall,ELF cosmetics is a okay cosmetic brand for new make up users or people who want to build up their collection more on quantity because everything is a dollar. Quality wise? Not the best. There are better drugstore brands that offer good quality cosmetics. I don’t mind buying the lip balms & the bronzer as an eyeshadow but, as for everything else…they can keep it.

