h1

Avoiding Make Up Meltdowns During The Spring-Summer Season

April 13, 2008

Avoid the dreaded make up meltdowns during this Spring/Summer with these tips and product suggestions.

  • Foundation Primers – Foundation and eyeshadow primers are the key for no smudge make up. Even during the extreme heat, you can avoid any type of make up meltdown with just a touch of a primer. Smashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer is one of the best foundation primers I’ve tried. I’ve worn this primer to outdoor events during the Summer and my foundation looked as fresh as it did when I first did my make up. Not to mention it fights off shine even on the oily-est of skins.

  • Eyeshadow Primer/Base – You can get even the poorest of quality eyeshadows to have a good color pay off/lasting power with an eyeshadow base. Urban Decay Primer Potion is the most popular pick when it comes to eyeshadow bases. If you want smudge/budge proof eyeshadow, this product is for you. Eyeshadows will stay in place even in the most hottest weather. People have told me they have had a hard time trying to get their eyeshadows to blend when using UDPP. When I do use UDPP, sometimes I like to apply a cream eyeshadow after applying the UDPP on my eye lids. It helps blend my eyeshadow perfectly. This primer potion can be pricey for some, so L’oreal De-Crease Eyeshadow Base is a cheaper alternative for those who want to stay within their budget.

  • Waterproof Mascaras – When it comes to sweat, tears, or rain..waterproof mascaras can be your best friend. Artistry Waterproof Mascara is my favorite mascara (or at least one of my favorites. I love my Artistry Essentials Mascara too!). Talk about a mascara that stays put. Sometimes, it takes me awhile to take this mascara off! What I also love about this mascara is that it doesn’t flake like other mascaras I use.

  • Liquid & Gel Eyeliner – Pencil eyeliners can be a pain to stay on because of their smudge factors especially during the warmer weather. Try using a liquid liner like Artistry Control Eyeliner. This liner is water resistant, smudge proof, and very long lasting which is great for the humid and sticky weather. New to liquid eyeliner? First, line your eyes with a regular pencil eyeliner and then, trace over the pencil liner with a liquid liner. One of my other favorite liners is MAC’s Fluidline Gel Liners. These eyeliners are so easy to put on and very long lasting. Don’t be intimidated by the little pot they come in, just apply the liner with a liner brush or an angled brush. Comes in a variety of colors from black to a baby blue, they have a color for everyone.

